top of page

Brawl In Cell Block 99 (2017)

The idea of S. Craig Zahler directing a dramatic thriller starring Vince Vaughn is something I never thought I'd see come to screen, but here we are. Bone Tomahawk was easily my favorite film of 2015 and so I was of course thrilled to see what Zahler was cooking up next. When the initial trailer dropped I didn't find the concept too interesting so I was late to watching the film.

What a mistake that was.

Brawl In Cell Block 99 is one of the most disturbing and outrageously thrilling films I've ever seen. In my opinion, this surpasses the narrative punch that Bone Tomahawk delivered. The story's horror element comes not with the visual gore or violence (which there is plenty of so don't worry) but rather with its descent into complete desperation and darkness. Often I found myself looking away from the screen not due to visual horror but rather due to the uncomfortable position the film often puts you in. You are completely sucked into the world and it goes wrong, horribly wrong, and you feel like you're on a bad acid trip. Vaughn delivers the most powerful and terrifying performance of the past decade and completely shattered any negative opinions I had of him as an actor. The movie is beautiful and ugly in the most extreme ways with Zahler's always unique choice in lenses and filming styles. The dialogue's pacing is crafted to perfection and is just as hard hitting as it was in Bone Tomahawk.

If you are into letting a movie torture your very being, this is the one.

Many people will not enjoy this film as it does not hold back at all, don't let the mixed reviews fool you. People who don't appreciate this movie are just too chicken shit. This movie fuckin' rocks. Watch it. Keep your eyes on S. Craig Zahler. Watch Bone Tomahawk if you haven't.

This is not the horror film we deserved, but the one we needed.

Thank you S. Craig Zahler, I love you.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page